Make your own free website on

International Year of
Ecotourism and the Mountains

Programme Details

Programme Details
Keynote Speakers
Email Us
Final Programme

Please note: Details are subject to change


Wednesday, May 8

Ecotourism Experience in New Zealand's only Eco City

Start in Waitakere City, includes the famous train tour through the Waitakere Ranges


Thursday, May 9

Venue: AUT Conference Center

08:30am - 12:30pm
Conference embracing wider community (details to be finalised by AUT)

02:00pm - 04:00pm
UNANZ National Council Meeting

United Nations Youth Association of New Zealand Dinner


Friday, May 10

Venue: AUT Marae and AUT Conference Center

08:30 - 10:00am
Powhiri and Morning Tea

10:00am - 10:15am

10:20am - 10:25am
Welcome by President UNANZ NRB

10:25am - 10:30am
Welcome by President UNANZ

10:30am - 10:35am
Welcome by AUT Vice Chancellor

10:35am - 10:40am

10:40am - 10:45am
Welcome by Representative of the Office of the Mayor of Auckland City

10:45am - 11:00am
Official Opening by Governor General

11:00am - 01:00pm
National Secondary Schools Speech Awards

01:00pm - 01:45pm

02:00pm - 02:15pm
Prime Minister

02:12pm - 02:30pm
Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade

02:30pm - 02:50pm
Keynote speaker - to be confirmed

02:55pm - 03:10pm
Afternoon Tea

03:15pm - 03:35pm
Dr John Hull, Canada, Keynote Speaker Ecotourism

03:40pm - 04:00pm
Graeme Dingle Keynote Speaker Mountains (To be confirmed)

04:05pm - 04:20pm
Professor John Buckeridge, Associate Dean, Faculty Science and Engineering, AUT, Keynote Speaker, Mountains

04:25pm - 05:00pm


Saturday, May 11

Venue: AUT Conference Center

08:30am - 08:45am
New Registrations

09:00am - 09:05am
Welcome by UNANZ National President, Kate Smith

09:05am - 09:15am
World Summit on Sustainable Development

09:15am - 09:30am

09:35am - 10:05am
Two speakers on Ecotourism - Dr Simon Milne, Professor Tourism, Faculty Business, AUT and Dr David Simmons, Professor, Lincoln University

10:05am - 10:20am

10:25am - 10:55am
Two speakrs on Ecotourism - Stephanie Faile, Batchelor of Business with Honours, Majoring in Ecotourism - Representatives from UNYANZ

10:55am - 11:10am

11:10am - 11:25am
Morning Tea

11:30am - 11:40am
Minister of Tourism, Honourable Mark Burton (New Zealand Government's position on International Year of Ecotourism)

11:40am - 11:50am

11:55am - 12:35pm
Workshop and deciding on Remits

12:40pm - 01:00pm
Remit Report Back

01:00pm - 01:45pm

01:55pm - 02:00pm
Kate Smith Welcome re: the Mountains

02:00pm - 02:30pm
Two speakers on the Mountains - Grant Hawke, Ngati Whatua and Indigenous People and Rosemary Banks - MFAT - Deputy Secretary in charge of: UN and Commonwealth, Environment and Antartic Policy, Human Rights, International Security and Arms Control, Consular Issues

02:30pm - 02:45pm

02:50pm - 03:20pm
Two speakers on the Mountains - Simon Reeves LLB, Environment Officer UNANZ Representative, New Zealand Federation Mountain Clubs

03:20pm - 03:35pm

03:35pm - 03:50pm
Afternoon Tea

03:55pm - 04:05pm
Minister for Conservation, Honourable Sandra Lee (New Zealand Government's contribution to International Year of Mountains)

04:05pm - 04:15pm

04:20pm - 05:00pm
Workshop and Deciding on Remits

05:05pm - 05:25pm
Remit Report Back

05:25pm - 05:30pm
Kate Smith - Conclusion

Dinner - Dinner Speakers - Juan Carlos Brandt, Director, UN Information Center, Sydnet and the Winner of the National Secondary School Speech Awards 2002


Sunday, May 12

Venue: AUT Conference Center

08:30am - 09:00am
Spiritual Reflections, Led by Rev. Roger Hey

09:15am - 10:30am
UNANZ Annual General Meeting

10:30am - 10:45am

10:50am - 12:30pm
UNANZ Annual General Meeting

12:35pm - 01:15pm

01:20pm - 03:20pm
UNANZ National Council Meeting


Contact: UNANZ, United Nations Association of New Zealand
Peter Honeybun, President, Northern Region Branch.+64- 09-827-8830